Image Management Module
Posted by , Last modified by on 13 October 2011 10:19 AM
The Image Management module under utilities allows you to view and maintain images that are generated by Additional Images added to your products. When a product has Additional Images added, thumbnails, main image and close up images are generated automatically. These image are not deleted automatically when a product is deleted, a new images is uploaded for a product or new sizes are defined for thumbnails or close-ups and so they can begin to build and take up substantial disk space over time. The Image Management module allows you to find unused images quickly and deleted them, to look for updated images and automatically generate new thumbnails for them, and to delete all resized images individually or en masse.
Check for Updated Images
Checks the time stamp of image files that have been uploaded, by FTP for instance, and updates the main image and resized images for those files. The old resized images are overwritten by this process.
To the far right of the Image Management screen there is a column labeled Reference Count. If the Reference Count for an image is 0, that means the images is not being used. If you click the Delete Unreferenced button all images with a reference count of zero will be deleted along with the resized versions of those images.
When you select an image using the check boxes on the left of the Image Management screen the Delete Resized button becomes active. Any image you have selected will have all the resized images for that product deleted. Those images will be regenerated the next time a front end user accesses a page that would require that resized image to display.
When you select an image using the check boxes on the left of the Image Management screen the Delete Selected button becomes active. Any image you have selected will be deleted along with all of it's resized images.
Image Popup windowAll the additional images listed on the Image Management screen are clickable links. When you click them a pop up window appears. You can delete this image and all its resized images by click the Delete Master Image button. When you select a resized image using the check boxes on the left of the Image Management Popup window, the Delete Selected button becomes active. Any resized image you have selected will be deleted, but the Master image will be unaffected. Resized images will be regenerated the next time a front end user accesses a page that would require that resized image to display.